Recap of my first two weeks in Amman!

I arrived in Amman on June 11th, 2016 and have officially been here for 18 days! Time is flying by and so far everything has been fantastic. I promised myself that I would start blogging immediately upon arrival, but unfortunately my MacBook does not connect to the WiFi in Qasid housing. This is a problem for many other Apple product users. I finally found a spot called Books@ Cafe where my laptop does work, so I have a feeling I am going to find myself coming here often to do homework.

As I haven’t blogged for 18 days, I have a lot to talk about.

My arrival in Amman was VERY smooth and easy. I remember being extremely nervous and staying up all night on the eve of my flight. I flew with Royal Jordanian directly from the United States and was able to sleep and watch movies for 15 hours. Once I arrived at Amman’s airport, I immediately spotted the Qasid shuttle and found myself at my new apartment within an hour.

Later that night, my roommates Elly and Jannika moved in, and so far, it’s only been the three of us living in the apartment (even though it’s a four bedroom place). I knew Jannika previously from the University of Oregon and Elly and I immediately got along, so everything has been great!

Besides not having WiFi on my laptop (thankfully it works on my phone), and the occasional toilet problems (the plumbing in our apartment keeps breaking), our apartment is awesome. Super great location and only a 7 minute walk to class.

As for classes, they are definitely much more intensive than what I am used to. We have class for four straight hours a day and a lot of homework. But I am getting by and managing the classes. I am still trying to find the balance between having a fun study abroad and handling the stress, but I know I will get by. Luckily, I don’t have class until 1 pm, so it gives me time to relax in the evenings with my friends and see the city.

I haven’t traveled much outside of Amman yet, besides the Dead Sea (which was awesome), and Jerash. Hopefully over the next couples weeks, I will get to see Petra, Wadi Rum, Salt, and Wadi Mujib.

Another important note is that I arrived in Amman during the beginning of Ramadan and have had the opportunity to experience the holiday. During Ramadan, the city sleeps during the day and becomes alive at night. The city completely transforms. I am excited to see Amman after Ramadan though. I am curious to see if the city will be as alive at night.

Over the next couple days, I will be sure to write more blog posts (I can finally blog on my phone too!). But for now, I will attach some photos to summarize the last 18 days:

The view of Amman from Taj Mall

Looking over the city in the Citadel

Another city view from the Citadel

Ancient Ruins

With my roommates in the Roman Colosseum

Floating in the Dead Sea

Hanging out on Rainbow Street

Eating the national dish of Jordan (mansaf) in Al Quds restaurant 

View of the Dead Sea 

With my roommate Elly exploring the city at night 
 

Leave a Reply

